< back to all updates

Personal Finance Management

Financial Data API

MXinsights — Release Notes March 3, 2022

03/03/2022

MXinsights Release Notes

1 YEAR SWEEPER WORKER

Summary

Technically, MXinsights users can scroll all the way back to the first insight that was ever created for them. In practice, no users are doing this. An unnecessary pileup of insights in our databases will lead to performance issues if not addressed. On Tuesday, March 1st, we implemented a sweeper worker that will automatically delete insights that are 1 year old or older for all end users on the platform. This sweeper worker will continue to delete insights that are older than 1 year. This impacts all MXinsights clients and MXinsights end users. However, we anticipate that the impact will go unnoticed because our analytics suggest nobody is scrolling back further than 1 year.

What Is Happening?

We are implementing a sweeper worker that will automatically delete insights that are 1 year old or older for all MXinsights users on the platform. This sweeper worker will continue to delete insights that are older than 1 year

Why is this Happening?

Our databases are being bogged down by millions of insights that are no longer relevant. If we don’t do something about it, we anticipate we will run into performance issues. This sweeper protects the user experience by protecting speed and performance.

When Is This Happening?

Code was pushed on Tuesday March 1st, and the deletion process will be completed by Thursday March 3rd. The deletion process will then continue happening in the background for insights 1 year old or older.

Who Does This Impact?

All MXinsights end users that scroll back 1 year into their insights (usually scroll back a couple of weeks)

What Are the Impact(s)?

End users

This will only impact insights that are older than 1 year.

The only way the end user would see an impact is if they scrolled back 1 year in their feed. We anticipate no users are doing that but we are working on implementing tracking mechanisms to know for sure.

Clients/Partners

None

What Does the Partner/Client Need to Do as a Result of This Change?

No action needed on the part of partners or clients. 

FAQ

Will analytics for clients be affected?

No, clients will continue having access to all the end user insights even after they are deleted from their feed.